2012 Student Conservator of the Year Award

In late 2012 AICCM with the support of the Association of Australian Decorative and Fine Arts Societies (ADFAS) awarded the second ADFAS Prize – Student Conservator of the Year award. In 2012 we were fortunate enough to be able to award an ADFAS prize on two different occasions in both Melbourne and Canberra to a student completing the University of Melbourne and the University of Canberra courses respectively.

  • In late October in Melbourne ADFAS representative Ms Christine Penfold awarded Lisa Yeats from The University of Melbourne with the Student Conservator of the Year prize.
  • In Canberra in late November an ADFAS representative awarded Sara Freeman from the University of Canberra with the Student Conservator of the Year prize.

Congratulations on behalf of all AICCM members to both Sara and Lisa.

The prize of $2000 recognises student conservators who show an early commitment to and involvement with the conservation profession along with high academic achievement. AICCM is highly appreciative of the generous sponsorship of this prize by ADFAS and believes it will generate a greater commitment to the conservation profession among students and early career conservators in general. 

Thank you to Tony Rich of Art Conservation Framers in South Melbourne and Quentin Webster of Framing Matters in Canberra who donated their professional services and materials for the archival framing of the award certificates, your support is gratefully acknowledged.

Kay Soderlund
AICCM National President